3 Squadron  

Go Back   3 Squadron > Public > General

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
» November 2018
S M T W T F S
28293031 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
» Online Users: 42
0 members and 42 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 414, 26th October 2018 at 01:37 PM.
» Stats
Members: 146
Threads: 2,835
Posts: 27,720
Top Poster: Cali (3,567)
Welcome to our newest member, boydyma
» Today's Birthdays
None
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st March 2010, 11:45 AM   #1
Kuky
3 Sqn Member
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,317
Default Flaming Cliffs 2.0 - File Integrity Checks

I just run a test with elDiablo to figure out how we can use the file integrity check and I am very happy with result. At first I thought you could specify only folder which should have files checked for integrity, but seems you can specify specific files also... 3 examples bellow:

Config/network.cfg

DEFAULT
Quote:
.
.
.
server = {
disable_events = false,
integrity_check = {"Config/Weapons"},
client_params = "motd=\"Welcome to Flaming Cliffs 2 server!\";",
pause_on_load = true,
.
.
.
SPECIFIC FOLDERS (all files in them)
Quote:
.
.
.
server = {
disable_events = false,
integrity_check = {"Config/Weapons", "Scripts/Database/planes"},
client_params = "motd=\"Welcome to Flaming Cliffs 2 server!\";",
pause_on_load = true,
.
.
.
FOLDER + SPECIFIC FILE
Quote:
.
.
.
server = {
disable_events = false,
integrity_check = {"Config/Weapons", "Scripts/Database/planes/A-10A.lua"},
client_params = "motd=\"Welcome to Flaming Cliffs 2 server!\";",
pause_on_load = true,
.
.
.
Since I have SIMMOD A-10A installed and elDiablo doesn't he failed integrity checks when I set whole folder or only A-10A.lua file

Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 11:51 AM   #2
Case
51st Members
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 255
Default

File integrity checks will become a must for online multiplayer servers. It would be a good thing if server hosts can decide on which files to check, and try to come up with a list that allows people to fly on as many servers without the need to move directories and change configurations.
__________________
Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 11:56 AM   #3
Kuky
3 Sqn Member
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Case View Post
File integrity checks will become a must for online multiplayer servers. It would be a good thing if server hosts can decide on which files to check, and try to come up with a list that allows people to fly on as many servers without the need to move directories and change configurations.
This is one POLL that will be very usefull.. should we ask cool_t to make it?

j/k
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:02 PM   #4
Case
51st Members
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuky View Post
This is one POLL that will be very usefull.. should we ask cool_t to make it?
lol

I was sort of thinking of starting this on the Community Round Table. It would keep the noobs out, but also only 3 members per squad are allowed.
__________________
Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:05 PM   #5
Case
51st Members
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 255
Default

What is 3Sqn's take on allowing exports?

It seems exports need to be off or export.lua needs to be cleverly checked for integrity to stop scripts like these to be executed.

Personally I'd be in favour for allowing exports to allow the recording of (locked) ACMI's, and LO Virtual Panel.
__________________
Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:15 PM   #6
Grimes
3 Sqn Member
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Case View Post
What is 3Sqn's take on allowing exports?

It seems exports need to be off or export.lua needs to be cleverly checked for integrity to stop scripts like these to be executed.

Personally I'd be in favour for allowing exports to allow the recording of (locked) ACMI's, and LO Virtual Panel.
My opinion on that thread...

Quote:
Two VERY important distinctions must be made.

1. What exists in reality.

2. What exists within the game.

Now I view those two things as two completely different entities. Even with the DCS level aircraft there are differences between the two. So to me, its all fine and dandy that real aircraft have certain capabilities. If it wasn't modeled in the game, its not in the game.

But alas, you argue "But the real jet has it!"
and I reply, "Well the Su-27 can carry R-77 in real life"
to that I hear, "but not the version of the Su-27 in game"
to which I say, "neither does the F-15 in game have such a radar"

So there we have it. The never ending argument. To me its not a question of whether a real aircraft has a capability, or it was done this way in Falcon or other flight sims, but rather "This is how Eagle Dynamics made their game." Their choice to leave out features was their choice. Its not the responsibility of the community to change this fact. Especially when such a mod can function independently from the game.
If a checker that locks ACMI and cleverly checks the file then I'm all for it.
If its on by default I worry about turning it off. Its not exactly a option in the menu for the game.
__________________
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 11:54 AM   #7
Kuky
3 Sqn Member
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,317
Default

I am now calling for all the guys in our squad to set what mods we are to allow (should be only a hand full of them, mostly LUA files) and get them all together and set available for download for all so we all have same...

I vouch for following mods:
1. F-15C 3D model

2. Su-27 3D model

3. A-10A 3D model

4. changing view in the cockpit and enabling this extra 6DOF

All other mods (for example I have MiG-29 fuel tank 3d model, Ricardo's HD cockpits, clean mirrors textures of my own) are alright as they are only textures and no modifications to any config files are required.

The A-10A and F-15C do require change in LUA files so for them we need to include those in our set... what do ya' all say?
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:10 PM   #8
Grimes
3 Sqn Member
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuky View Post
4. changing view in the cockpit and enabling this extra 6DOF
Can be done server side I think.
__________________
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:16 PM   #9
Kuky
3 Sqn Member
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimes View Post
Can be done server side I think.
I think not, with 1.12 the file was "forced" by the server, this is no longer the case, the file can only be checked for integrity if set

Case, I like the round table idea... I think 2 people from most squads is enough as we can discuss within squads what we want
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:19 PM   #10
Kuky
3 Sqn Member
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,317
Default

Quote:
Two VERY important distinctions must be made.

1. What exists in reality.

2. What exists within the game.

Now I view those two things as two completely different entities. Even with the DCS level aircraft there are differences between the two. So to me, its all fine and dandy that real aircraft have certain capabilities. If it wasn't modeled in the game, its not in the game.

But alas, you argue "But the real jet has it!"
and I reply, "Well the Su-27 can carry R-77 in real life"
to that I hear, "but not the version of the Su-27 in game"
to which I say, "neither does the F-15 in game have such a radar"

So there we have it. The never ending argument. To me its not a question of whether a real aircraft has a capability, or it was done this way in Falcon or other flight sims, but rather "This is how Eagle Dynamics made their game." Their choice to leave out features was their choice. Its not the responsibility of the community to change this fact. Especially when such a mod can function independently from the game.
Bloody damn right
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 12:22 PM   #11
Case
51st Members
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuky View Post
Case, I like the round table idea... I think 2 people from most squads is enough as we can discuss within squads what we want
Remember that it is already in place thanks to the VJS 161: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=50421

Ruggbutt, Cali and Grimes are registered on behalf of 3Sqn and at least some pilots from the major squadrons are represented there.
__________________
Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 03:07 PM   #12
X-man
51st Members
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Two VERY important distinctions must be made.

1. What exists in reality.

2. What exists within the game.

Now I view those two things as two completely different entities. Even with the DCS level aircraft there are differences between the two. So to me, its all fine and dandy that real aircraft have certain capabilities. If it wasn't modeled in the game, its not in the game.

But alas, you argue "But the real jet has it!"
and I reply, "Well the Su-27 can carry R-77 in real life"
to that I hear, "but not the version of the Su-27 in game"
to which I say, "neither does the F-15 in game have such a radar"

So there we have it. The never ending argument. To me its not a question of whether a real aircraft has a capability, or it was done this way in Falcon or other flight sims, but rather "This is how Eagle Dynamics made their game." Their choice to leave out features was their choice. Its not the responsibility of the community to change this fact. Especially when such a mod can function independently from the game.
Fully agree with that!
__________________

Jonas "X-man" Jarneborn, #34 of the 51st PVO Regiment
X-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.